Forum issues/feature requests thread

aveline

fun sucker
Administrator
Champion
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
28,635
Reaction score
88,180
Points
2,088
Location
Las Vegas
Gender
Female
Even just choosing a colored one that is already available would be a nice option I think. I'd pay extra to have mine in orange for example. Doesn't have to be tons of patterns or even a personalized pattern necessarily just some more choices. But no sparkles obviously or the ones you and electrolyte have. Admins get some privileges. And I don't want to create more work for you all I just noticed people perked up yesterday when you started posting them. :D
Yeah, but unfortunately we can't have multiple instances of the same banner with different text on each one. When we set up a banner, whatever text we put on it is sorta 'baked in.' Like the only orange banner that we have says "Moderator" on it and there's no way to change that for an individual person, that I'm aware of, without creating a whole new banner. It's a limitation of the addon we use, which gives us greater control over how the banners are displayed at the cost of having a limited number of them.

Xenforo has its own banners built in, which I believe you can have an unlimited number of, but they're much larger than our current banners and you're kinda forced to use one of their 12 preset colors, none of which I particularly cared for when we were setting up the forum. It does allow for some CSS customization, though, so I can look into seeing if there's a good way to get a little more flexibility out of it, to get it on par with the addon that we're using.
 

coffeeowl

vampire noctua
Contributor
Mentor
Master Pleaser
Crowd Pleaser
HIT Poster
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
24,889
Reaction score
55,456
Points
1,738
Location
Tiny Tree House
Gender
Female
Yeah, but unfortunately we can't have multiple instances of the same banner with different text on each one. When we set up a banner, whatever text we put on it is sorta 'baked in.' Like the only orange banner that we have says "Moderator" on it and there's no way to change that for an individual person, that I'm aware of, without creating a whole new banner. It's a limitation of the addon we use, which gives us greater control over how the banners are displayed at the cost of having a limited number of them.

Xenforo has its own banners built in, which I believe you can have an unlimited number of them, but they're much larger than our current banners and you're kinda forced to use one of their 12 preset colors, none of which I particularly cared for when we were setting up the forum. It does allow for some CSS customization, though, so I can look into seeing if there's a good way to get a little more flexibility out of it, to get it on par with the addon that we using.
Oh, I thought you added the text. That makes perfect sense then. I'll just keep threatening people to donate. I mean asking nicely. Thanks! :love:
 

aveline

fun sucker
Administrator
Champion
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
28,635
Reaction score
88,180
Points
2,088
Location
Las Vegas
Gender
Female
Oh, I thought you added the text. That makes perfect sense then. I'll just keep threatening people to donate. I mean asking nicely. Thanks! :love:
Yeah, that's why Peachy @PeachyRider and LlamaRhama @LlamaRhama share a 'Champion' banner, even though they got it for winning different things. There was no way that we could give them each a variation without having to make an extra banner, so we had to come up with a compromise.
 

Business Cat

Catipalist
Contributor
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
1,578
Reaction score
6,222
Points
838
Location
Saint Louis
Gender
Female
things get weird on mobile with live update on, while creating a reply post, on ios using chrome

i can try to grab a screenshot of it if that helps
 
  • Like
Reactions: kryss

Fester

Well-Known Member
Contributor
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
8,438
Reaction score
16,519
Points
1,013
Gender
Male
I'm not sure if I made this suggestion before & too lazy to look around, but what about if only donators had access to daily threads?
 

ducky

fight for what's right
Contributor
Joined
Jul 19, 2016
Messages
6,296
Reaction score
17,717
Points
1,013
Age
25
Gender
Female
I'm not sure if I made this suggestion before & too lazy to look around, but what about if only donators had access to daily threads?
why should they be?
 

Fester

Well-Known Member
Contributor
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
8,438
Reaction score
16,519
Points
1,013
Gender
Male
why should they be?
Because they're the only ones helping this site stay around & without them the site would be gone & you wouldn't get free info from here anyways?
Also, make it harder for robots to steal our posts.
 

Jaded

The real themildone
Administrator
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
45,527
Reaction score
120,626
Points
1,414
Age
119
Gender
Female
Because they're the only ones helping this site stay around & without them the site would be gone & you wouldn't get free info from here anyways?
Also, make it harder for robots to steal our posts.
IIRC this has been discussed, I remember there were compelling reasons against it, but I don't remember what they were. I think MTG might have tried it for a bit and it didn't work as intended.
 

Fester

Well-Known Member
Contributor
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
8,438
Reaction score
16,519
Points
1,013
Gender
Male
IIRC this has been discussed, I remember there were compelling reasons against it, but I don't remember what they were. I think MTG might have tried it for a bit and it didn't work as intended.
OMG, I forgot about mtg, lol.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jaded

aveline

fun sucker
Administrator
Champion
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
28,635
Reaction score
88,180
Points
2,088
Location
Las Vegas
Gender
Female
I'm not sure if I made this suggestion before & too lazy to look around, but what about if only donators had access to daily threads?
If we charged people to use the daily threads they would just go to one of the many other mturk forums that are free. Aside from the personalities that inhabit the work threads on a particular forum, one forum doesn't really offer all that much more than any other forum. I imagine leaving would be an easy decision for nearly everybody.
 

Achilles2357

Active Member
Joined
May 24, 2017
Messages
966
Reaction score
1,458
Points
393
Gender
Male
I just made a post in the daily thread and tried to post an image via an external site, but it didn't show up. When I view the post it just shows an image icon. But when I try to edit the post to remove the image, I don't see the code for the image link at all. It seems that something must be wrong, but I don't know what.
This is the post:https://www.mturkcrowd.com/posts/1241394/
I see an icon there but no image, and yet when I try to view the code, I see no code for the image.
 

aveline

fun sucker
Administrator
Champion
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
28,635
Reaction score
88,180
Points
2,088
Location
Las Vegas
Gender
Female
I just made a post in the daily thread and tried to post an image via an external site, but it didn't show up. When I view the post it just shows an image icon. But when I try to edit the post to remove the image, I don't see the code for the image link at all. It seems that something must be wrong, but I don't know what.
This is the post:https://www.mturkcrowd.com/posts/1241394/
I see an icon there but no image, and yet when I try to view the code, I see no code for the image.
You can click the wrench icon in the upper right corner of the text edit box to switch from the Rich Text Editor to the BB Code Editor. That usually shows anything that might not be showing up in the Rich Text Editor.

Your image link was just missing the file extension. You linked to a page instead of the file itself.

Like this:
 

Achilles2357

Active Member
Joined
May 24, 2017
Messages
966
Reaction score
1,458
Points
393
Gender
Male
You can click the wrench icon in the upper right corner of the text edit box to switch from the Rich Text Editor to the BB Code Editor. That usually shows anything that might not be showing up in the Rich Text Editor.

Your image link was just missing the file extension. You linked to a page instead of the file itself.

Like this:
OK, thanks. I didn't know about the wrench, and it looks like you need "Direct Link" on PostImage (if you are putting it inside the BBcode image tags, I guess...)
 
  • Like
Reactions: aveline

Business Cat

Catipalist
Contributor
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
1,578
Reaction score
6,222
Points
838
Location
Saint Louis
Gender
Female
why doesn't 'Reply' include in the quoted part a 'reply' that was in that post? like, keeping the full context kind of thing if I'm not making sense :bag: :upsidedown: (I couldn't find a smiley for that one?)
 

aveline

fun sucker
Administrator
Champion
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
28,635
Reaction score
88,180
Points
2,088
Location
Las Vegas
Gender
Female
why doesn't 'Reply' include in the quoted part a 'reply' that was in that post? like, keeping the full context kind of thing if I'm not making sense :bag: :upsidedown: (I couldn't find a smiley for that one?)
I don't know, I guess the Xenforo developers just thought it might look cleaner? Pretty much anything in [QUOTE] tags gets omitted when you reply. Generally, I think it makes sense, but it can sometimes be a pain, especially when you're quoting someone that quoted someone else without actually adding any of their own content. In those cases I always have to manually insert it in there.
 

ducky

fight for what's right
Contributor
Joined
Jul 19, 2016
Messages
6,296
Reaction score
17,717
Points
1,013
Age
25
Gender
Female
I can't remember if I asked or it was asked before, but is there a reason we can't edit posts from old daily threads?
 

Jaded

The real themildone
Administrator
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
45,527
Reaction score
120,626
Points
1,414
Age
119
Gender
Female
I can't remember if I asked or it was asked before, but is there a reason we can't edit posts from old daily threads?
I don't know why, but it won't let you edit it if it's closed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: aveline and ducky

ducky

fight for what's right
Contributor
Joined
Jul 19, 2016
Messages
6,296
Reaction score
17,717
Points
1,013
Age
25
Gender
Female
I don't know why, but it won't let you edit it if it's closed.
Yeah, but I assume members could be given that option. Not really sure how the permission settings work though
 

aveline

fun sucker
Administrator
Champion
Joined
Jan 10, 2016
Messages
28,635
Reaction score
88,180
Points
2,088
Location
Las Vegas
Gender
Female
Yeah, but I assume members could be given that option. Not really sure how the permission settings work though
There's no option for it, unfortunately. There is a setting for the amount of time that members have to edit their messages, and we actually have that set to unlimited, but if you don't have the permissions to reply to a locked thread the edit button won't even show up. It's kinda silly.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jaded and ducky