Mturk Suite Thread

xqyzt

Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2018
Messages
379
Reaction score
1,071
Points
193
Age
36
Gender
Female
Kind of a soft question, I guess, but is there an optimal or maximum number of watchers to add in Hit Catcher? It seems to get "clogged" when I have too many watchers and I end up not catching as much if I had fewer. However, I don't really know what a good optimal number for speed and quantity would be. Looking for some input on those who have more experience.
 

TSolo315

SnapNCrackle
Administrator
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
4,907
Reaction score
16,720
Points
2,363
Gender
Male
Kind of a soft question, I guess, but is there an optimal or maximum number of watchers to add in Hit Catcher? It seems to get "clogged" when I have too many watchers and I end up not catching as much if I had fewer. However, I don't really know what a good optimal number for speed and quantity would be. Looking for some input on those who have more experience.
You get around a maximum of 2 requests to MTurk a second. All of your scripts share a common pool of these requests -- so HC, HF, PC, HS, whatever else you use all share the same pool (along with whatever you are doing manually, clicking HITs, returning HIT, refreshing a page, etc.) If you go over the limit, the request will result in a PRE, or "Page Request Error," -- this is probably what you mean by "clogged." Watchers/pandas make requests repeatedly based on what you have the timer set to. So if the timer is set to 2, it will make a request every two seconds (HC does stagger requests so this isn't entirely true, but it's good enough to make a judgement with.) Your goal should be to have few enough watchers with long enough timers not to be triggering PREs very often. HC has a PRE counter so it is easy to tell when they are getting triggered.
 
  • Like
Reactions: xqyzt

Wgeo

New Member
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
44
Reaction score
44
Points
218
Age
43
Gender
Female
Question about the new update - I don't have an account with TV in order to get an API - can I continue to use MTS without signing up with TV? I see that I can sign up and get a free month, but I already know I won't be paying a monthly fee and I'd rather not add another account unnecessarily. Thanks
 

Kadauchi

Well-Known Member
Master Pleaser
Crowd Pleaser
Joined
Jan 12, 2016
Messages
7,042
Reaction score
21,805
Points
1,263
Yep, you should be able to just disable TV in the options and continue on like nothing else has happened.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Wgeo

nmelssx

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Messages
1,186
Reaction score
1,456
Points
413
Age
26
Gender
Male
The new TV, TO1, TO2 thingy aren't working in HITs Completed.
 

ChrisTurk

Member
Joined
May 25, 2016
Messages
367
Reaction score
1,434
Points
393
The new TV, TO1, TO2 thingy aren't working in HITs Completed.
You mean like on this page? https://worker.mturk.com/status_details/2019-02-01

I wasn't aware they used to be there, if they aren't there anymore that's my fault, I'll get them added back. It looks like fixing one bug (MTS would add 2x requester icons to some smaller viewports) killed them from there.. Fix one, create another haha.

Just let me know if I'm understanding it right so I can make sure I'm correcting the right thing :)
 

nmelssx

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Messages
1,186
Reaction score
1,456
Points
413
Age
26
Gender
Male
You mean like on this page? https://worker.mturk.com/status_details/2019-02-01

I wasn't aware they used to be there, if they aren't there anymore that's my fault, I'll get them added back. It looks like fixing one bug (MTS would add 2x requester icons to some smaller viewports) killed them from there.. Fix one, create another haha.

Just let me know if I'm understanding it right so I can make sure I'm correcting the right thing :)
Yeah. They used to be there as well.
 

dreamonjaded1

Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
302
Reaction score
503
Points
293
Age
38
Gender
Female
Is there a crash course for dummies for MTS? I just downloaded it today and I have no clue what I'm doing. I feel like I'm not finding as much as if I were just on the site.
 
  • Like
Reactions: scrmcasey

scrmcasey

Skynet Aide
Moderator
Gamemaster
Sole Survivor
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
6,060
Reaction score
17,182
Points
2,213
Location
PA
Gender
Female
Is there a crash course for dummies for MTS? I just downloaded it today and I have no clue what I'm doing. I feel like I'm not finding as much as if I were just on the site.
Try going to this site - it has sections on the right that you might be able to get further insight. It may be slightly outdated, I'm not sure. MTS has a lot of awesome features so this will give you a place to start.

https://github.com/Kadauchi/mturk-suite/wiki
 

SandraL

New Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2018
Messages
19
Reaction score
21
Points
203
Age
55
Can anyone help with this? I haven't used MTS in several months and I just reinstalled it. I used to get little popups in the bottom right-hand corner of my screen from the HIT catcher, but now I'm not getting them and I'm missing HITs constantly. How do I enable those popups? Thanks!
 

scrmcasey

Skynet Aide
Moderator
Gamemaster
Sole Survivor
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
6,060
Reaction score
17,182
Points
2,213
Location
PA
Gender
Female
Can anyone help with this? I haven't used MTS in several months and I just reinstalled it. I used to get little popups in the bottom right-hand corner of my screen from the HIT catcher, but now I'm not getting them and I'm missing HITs constantly. How do I enable those popups? Thanks!
I'm not sure if Hit Catcher displays the pop up or not, I couldn't find a setting for it when I was playing around with it just now.

Panda Crazy gives you the notifications though. You would click on Options, General, and then make sure Disable Desktop Notifications is set to false.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SandraL

Laser

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2018
Messages
5
Reaction score
10
Points
203
Age
53
Gender
Male
Is there some way to default Hit Catcher to be launched with all the HITs i am watching selected to "Catch"?

Its a pain to have to keep enabling each of them one at a time at startup or when I have to refresh the page because it has become too slow.

Also, what does "Pre:"mean in each catcher box?

Thank you
 
Last edited:

mak1skav

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
13
Points
3
Age
42
I am not sure about the 1st quetion but "Pre:" Page read errors.